Hurricane Season!

Happy September everyone!

Well, this is my first ever hurricane season, and so far, it’s not bad.

Hanna did not affect us in the least. It only hit SC on the Northern coast, and was a tropical storm by then, so mostly rain with little damage. We are in Columbia, which is in the center of the state, about 2 hours from the coast, so far enough away from real danger, but still in the path. I am reminded of this by the Hurricane Preparedness flyer we received on the door of our apartment.
I was just checking on Ike, and that one seems to be headed more West. Chris says it’s a hurricane makin’ machine out there in the Atlantic, and that the ‘season’ lasts through November! Gee.

Hurricanes answer a question I had when I first came here about why the traffic signals are on strings here. Yes, on strings! lol That’s what it looks like to me. When I first came out here to visit Chris, we were driving, and I was just looking around when he came to a stop. I looked up and said, “Oh my gosh! there’s a red light! in the middle of the sky!” It seemed as if it appeared out of nowhere! It really did seem strange when I am so used to traffic signals being on steel arms and poles in CLEARLY marked intersections!

Check this out. This is very close to our place. A ‘typical’ intersection.
The only reason I can think of for putting signals on strings is for high winds, but I’m no engineer. I’m used to it now, but when Chris asked me what was the first thing I wanted to do when I got here? I said DRIVE! I have got to get used to these! It’s just one thing on a list of things that are different here.
Notice no crosswalk in this intersection? Yeah, there aren’t many. In fact, even if there WERE crosswalks, I don’t know that people would use them, because here you just walk across the street whenever and wherever you feel the need to. Or for that matter, just walk down the center of the street! There is Jaywalkin’ O’plenty here, and no one seems to think anything of it. I am so conditioned from California, that I sit and wait on the light to change before crossing the street, but I seem to be the only one. (unless you’re another person not from these parts) I see people in the middle of the street all the time, and cops just drive right past ’em, so I guess it’s not illegal. ???? Oh well. Sometimes it seems I was thrust into the past here. No helmets on motorcycles, smoking in restaurants (now only bars, Thank God), people riding in the back of pickup trucks, etc. But I just keep on doin’ it the way I know how, and I’m happy as can be.
It’s still pretty darn hot. High 80’s to low 90’s most days, but the nights and mornings are getting cooler! I’m soooo excited for Fall weather!
I got my skates! They are beauties! Very comfortable, I can’t wait to get started! I’m just waiting for my helmet to arrive, and Chris’ have been held up, but it’s been too hot still to go out and really excercise, so we have time.
Hope this finds everyone happy and healthy! Happy Birthday to Mom, Ann, and any other September babies! 🙂
One thought on “Hurricane Season!

Leave a Reply

