Remembering ’08

Happy December everyone! Just a little later than usual.

Just to catch up….Thanksgiving in Beaufort was great, and just like home. There was no crazy uncle out front with a deep-fryer on the lawn, promising us the most juicy turkey ever. Just a home full of people all helping to prepare, nibble, talk, eat, watch football, do dishes and lay around miserably full until you found room for dessert! Chris’ mom made some wonderful dishes, and we got lots of left overs!
December has been busier at the salon (of course), and I finally feel like I am building a clientele. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it, but I have been using Paul Mitchell color since moving here, for numerous reasons, but mostly because of the cost effectiveness, and the education I can get. Well, they have opened a Paul Mitchell School here in Columbia, and some of us from the salon went to the opening. It was great to see something so modern and fresh come to Columbia! I think it will bring much needed style, professionalism, and trendiness to this area. One of the cool things was to get my picture taken with John Paul DeJoria!

The other cool thing was to find out that I could get into education with them, as a guest teaching something I excel at, or I can take a class at the State level, and become an educator for the company, full or part-time. Not sure what I will do yet, but I love thinking of the possibilities to take hairstyling to another level for me.
The weather here has been weird. It gets really cold, like 50 for the high, in the teens or 20’s for the lows, and then the next week in the 70’s. Needless to say many are sick at this time of year, and I don’t think the weather helps that. I have been lucky in the health dept. so far, (knock wood).
Chris had a bout with some stomach thing that of course had to hit the day of the Governor’s Christmas reception. He felt well enough for us to go, but we didn’t stay long, and he was out for the next 3 days. Poor guy.

It was really cool to go to the Governor’s mansion, here’s a picture of the outside, built in 1855.

I understand they recently remodeled inside, and it is quite beautiful. They had a lovely spread of food for us, and here’s something you won’t get in California….A Grits bar! lol Pretty cool.

We had our salon party the Sunday before Christmas, and that was fun. They do the White Elephant “steal” a present thing just a little differently, but it was all fun, and my co-worker Laura made all the food for us! I have to say, she did a magnificent job! So much good food from one person, she really outdid herself!
It was fun for Chris to meet the rest of the crew too!
Now I’ll have to work extra hard to lose the last 10 lbs I’ve gained since moving here! sheesh! It’s not only the food, (not that I can eat any of the fried stuff they have in such plentitude) but the weather keeps me indoors more often than in CA. Though I’ve been able to get out and walk much more now than when I was working at Starbucks.
Christmas was nice and relaxing, as our plans to go to Beaufort got changed since none of Chris’ other siblings were going to be there until Friday. So we got to hang out together at home for our first Christmas together, which was wonderful!
Santa Chris brought me some binoculars so I can see all the critters here that are new to me! I hope to see the owl responsible for all that hootin’ right out back!
YAY! Thank you Sweetie!
Chris is in Beaufort now with everyone, and I stayed here to work.
I hope all of you had a very Merry Christmas and Happy Hannukah!
Now the last thing besides Happy New Year, is to let you know I am coming to CA in July for a visit! I booked my flight already as I found an EXCELLENT deal. I will be there July 18-22. I really hope to see as many of my friends and family as possible, and go to the OC fair! (and hopefully see Weird Al)
I’ll keep you posted as it gets closer.
2008 was a fun adventure, a new chapter in my life, and I look forward to all the new adventures to come in 2009!
I miss and love you all! Chris and I wish you a Happy and Prosperous New Year!
3 thoughts on “Remembering ’08

  1. Can’t wait to see you in the summer. We’ll have to get the whole crew together, so pick a date you’ll be able to spare for us (we know we can’t compete with Weird Al), and I’ll play Julie the cruise director and get the troops rallied!BTW, I have a timeshare in New Orleans. Grits are a staple of my diet at least for one week of every year!

Leave a Reply

