tests, growth, and opportunity

Hi everyone!  Happy August.

It’s still hot, and hUmid (with a capital U for UGH) here, Summer is here for a good few more weeks. I’m hangin’ in there.

Can we talk? I mean, I think pretty much everyone who reads this is my friend. I hope so, anyway. While I try to keep this blog happy and peppy, life just isn’t like that all the time.  Don’t get me wrong, everything is fine, but I’ve had some drama at work, and I have never really had this kind of thing come up. (well, not since junior high)
I am currently working with a woman who is….hmm…well, let’s just say she doesn’t like ME. I just erased the details I started to give. They really don’t matter, what matters is that I have had to take a really hard look at what my options are professionally.  I didn’t think it would be that hard to find a good salon to work in here, and yet, that really seems to be the case.
Image Makers was the first salon I worked in, and it was PERFECT. (for me)
When it closed, I really felt stranded in this place.  Anyway, I prayed, and talked with Chris, and my manager, and decided to move my station and try to make that work. 
What do you do when someone who is old enough to be your mother won’t even sit down with you to talk, or hear an apology, (I did take responsibility for my part and offered amends, but she really was just looking for any reason to be mad) or look at you, talk to you, or even acknowledge your existence? geeze.  I literally could feel hate radiating off of her. It’s really sad. I have never come across anyone like this and it has affected me.
A couple of weeks have past, and I have found that her not talking to me is just fine. 🙂 It still feels weird, and it’s not that easy to just find another place to work.  If I did, it would be the 4th salon I’ve been to in 2 years! sheesh! that may not reflect well on ME.
I’m just trying to stay busy. When I’m busy, she doesn’t bother me, it’s the down time.  I don’t stay there now, which could hurt me when it comes to walk ins.  Hopefully time will make it better.
OK…venting over. lol
One of my options is to maybe start doing photography. So…..I decided to apply for a part time job at the portrait studio in the mall!
I figure it will be a great learning experience, and if I like it, maybe I can continue on. If not, I won’t! But it will also be a good way to make some Christmas money. We shall see! 🙂

This month started off with a continuing education class in Greenville (an hour and a half drive). We have to take CEU’s in order to renew our Cosmetology licenses.  It was one of the better ones, and worth the drive to actually learn something and be inspired.
I am taking another this Monday on updo’s! Yes, you heard me.
I have previously NOT done updo’s, as I am not very good at them, and also because of the drama that tends to go along with them.  I think these guys can teach me some easy up styles, and I can then help Elizabeth with her weddings to make some extra money.  Interestingly, we have new neighbors at at the salon building. A wedding consultant business!! I think it’s time. 🙂

With everything going on, and the heat, I haven’t had much photo mojo. Just a few nature pics here and there.

 
Recent fun has been a postcard exchange with some Flickr friends from around the world!
My 4 year quit smoking anniversary was the 13th! Yay me!
My hair is getting long.   Hi! 🙂
Chris got a promotion!!! YAY Chris! He is a Supervisor now, and got a raise! I’m so happy for him! He deserves it, and works hard.

We have decided to move, and are looking to rent a house. I’ll keep you posted.
I saw ‘eat, pray, love’ and would suggest you read the book first if you want it to be a better movie.

That’s about it. Just life going on.  I hope you are all well and happy. I miss you all, and having my friends to talk to.  These are the times I miss being home, but it’s all good.  Pray for us to find a nice, quiet, affordable house to rent, and for a drama free work zone for me! 🙂 Thank you in advance!

XOXO
Kelly

5 thoughts on “tests, growth, and opportunity

  1. Hi Kelly, first of all, love this photo of you. 🙂 Second, thank you for all your sweet comments on my blog recently, so much appreciated. I wish I had some good advice for you on dealing with the negativity but unfortunately the best thing is usually to get away from it, I don't think she will change much. Your idea of working in the photo studio is great. I wish you the best with that. And finally, here is a big HUG from me to you. I STILL plan to come to your area one day soon. xo – g

  2. Thanks for stopping by Jess! It IS Picture People, and I think it might be very fun! :)Aww, thanks Georgianna! I needed that hug. I'm sure everything will work out just the way it's supposed to. I would LOVE it if you came out! Then we could go see Tina and Lis in Beaufort!!

  3. Hey girl!!! Congrats on smoke-free!!!!! That is MAJOR compared to the minor crap at work. Your photograpy is begging for your attention, that's your calling! Here's my 2 cents for what it is worth (probably 2 cents) #1 your flowers are sooo great…sell them! Brainstorm! Find a new hotel going up & make then put your prints in each room. Any local farmer's markets? Frame a few, have them printed to canvas & sell them to tourist.#2 you are next door to a wedding place???? GO THERE! Ask them who they recommend as a wedding photographer & see if they will appentice with you. OR do you updos & make up & shoot sexy pix for fiances! MAKE FRIENDS AT THE WEDDING PLACE!! Be fearless girl, you have talent! GO!!!!I'm done, not really because I'm going to send you a homework assignment soon….be fearless! Don't wait for other's approval, you got it girl!That bitchy lady is a blessing…

Leave a Reply

